Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default What is eating away my data in the background?

Hi there,

after 2 weeks of usage I am already over my monthly data budget.

Internal data displays 379MB for Android Os - all others reasonable to what I used them for.

I just installed my data manager and within 10 minutes without touching it it displayed:

Android System 2MB
    OS Services 284KB

As I am new to Android, I'd appreciate if you could point me in the right direction for finding whats causing it.

Default Re: What is eating away my data in the background?

You might un install all apps and start over one at a time to see which is draining your data. Also there is a built in data manager in the settings menu (settings - - data) that will allow you to limit the data you use so you won't go over.

Otherwise watch out for Facebook, emails, other services that run in the background to check things. Also watch Pandora and how many apps you download. All of those things are data. Could add up.

Hope it helps.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 using Android Central Forums
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

thanks drmaf894c,

but that would mean these apps (facebook, email, etc) don't account for themselves in the data usage overview - but in the Android System & OS Services.

If that would be the case - the overview by app is nonsense :P
    Thanked by:

Global Posts
    9,696 Global Posts
    ROM
    touchejiz

go to Data Usage in settings mate, scroll down a bit and youl see the biggest data users from top to bottom.
    tap on one of the apps and theres a pie chart of what is background data.
    if you feel that the app doesnt need to be using data in the background, check the lil box that limits it

global s3, UK. Ask me anything and ill reply even if its just an intelligent (or stupid) guess
    GT-I9300, UK
    Thanked by:
    GSDer 
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

hi Funky,