eBook/Audio App question/help

jordo487

Jun 7, 2011
Visit site
I am new to the ebook/audio book world (not a big reader), but have been trying to read a few books lately. Anyways, I don't really know the best/known apps that integrate well with amazon or other places to purchase books. Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated. I would prefer to listen to listen to the books or buy a physical copy to read. Plan to hook my S5 up to my car and listen as I drive.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Well, if you're buying audiobooks from a store, usually said service's app is the best one since it'll give you the least headaches. For Amazon, the best option is Kindle. For Audibles, it's the Audibles app.

For eBooks, however, I totally prefer Google Play Books only for the ability to upload your own books to the service (ePub or PDF files) and have that sync anywhere, even any PC or mobile with a browser, so you never lose progress no matter where you read.

jordo487

Jun 7, 2011
Visit site
Well, if you're buying audiobooks from a store, usually said service's app is the best one since it'll give you the least headaches. For Amazon, the best option is Kindle. For Audibles, it's the Audibles app.

For eBooks, however, I totally prefer Google Play Books only for the ability to upload your own books to the service (ePub or PDF files) and have that sync anywhere, even any PC or mobile with a browser, so you never lose progress no matter where you read.

Thank you for this information, especially about the Google Play Books, I didn't know you could upload your own files into it.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Yeah, it's very cool. You can also upload your own music (or in your case, audiobooks if they are in non-DRM-protected MP3 files) to Google Play Music and have your collection available to stream on any phone or browser.

Ever since they gained that feature, I've only used Play Books and never looked back.

anon(8114070)

Oct 6, 2013