Will the S 8.4 get the Android Lollipop update?

dynot

Oct 16, 2014
Visit site
I've been waiting for the official specs on the new Nexus 9 before I made a decision on which tablet will be my first Android device. Based on today's announcement I think I'll go with Tab S 8.4 but would like to know if it'll be getting the Lollipop update. I'm thinking yes but I'm new to Android and figure you folks will know better.

While I'm at it, what are opinions on the fingerprint scanner? This is a major feature I am attracted to as is the multi-window.

Thanks

jonmayer

May 18, 2011
Visit site
I suspect it will be awhile until they update TouchWiz to run on Lollipop. I haven't searched yet, but I wonder if anyone has the current Tab S software running in ART. I think that will be the majority of updating involved for Samsung, along with deciding which notification scheme to use.

I too decided on this tablet after the Nexus 9 announcement. Until I hit a real reason to need Lollipop, I don't think it will be a major issue. I've played with the tablet in store before ordering one, but I didn't get a chance to play with the fingerprint scanner. Not a big deal for me, I also don't like lock-screens on my tablets FWIW.

FF22

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I initially tried the finger print scanner but immediately fooled it somewhat. Rather than swipe ONE finger, I alternately swiped the pointer on one hand, then the other hand the requisite number of times. It accepted this ruse. But only one finger worked.

Also I now have the Tab S (10.5) in a Logitech keyboard case. So if I have it standing in the easel-like format, keyboard flat and screen upright, I can't swipe my finger easily due to the "bend" between the keyboard and the Home-Button.