Rooting FAQ's (please post all related questions and concerns about rooting in here)

Brett

Retired Moderator
Nov 22, 2009
Visit site
I'm new to droid rooting as well, and i have a few questions to ask before i proceed in rooting my phone.

1. when i root my droid will i loose any media, pics, or apps that i have saved or downloaded to my phone or sd card?

2. has anyone used easy root to root their phone, and will it work if i have already updated to 2.2 froyo?

3. are ROMs what i will be using to customize my droid after rooting, and if so what ROMs should i have or try?

4. what apps should i have or need after rooting my droid?

1) everything downloaded on your phone will be gone, everything on your sd card will be intact like media, pics, apps and downloads

2) i have never used easy root since i have been rooted for a while but i think i read somthing on their site or maybe it was the app description saying that it is able to root 2.2. don't take my word for it though, check out their site or you could read the app reviews in the market and see if anybody says that it can root 2.2

3) roms are in most cases the way you will customize your droid. metamorph is another way but it seems to not be used as much. the difference between the 2 is that a rom will change the system and theme as well as a few other things. metamorph only changes the look of the UI. roms are usually a better bet because their are a lot more options that come with them, like over-clocking, optimized files which will help give your device more memory which in turn can make it faster. just a lot of good stuff.