USB Host Mode Not Working After Hard Reset/Repair by AT&T Tech

ladypsalm

Mar 18, 2014
Visit site
Hello, I'm new to the world of Android, but not new to computers. I got my Samsung Galaxy S3 in early December 2013 as replacement phone. It's my first smart phone. I started having problems with it one weekend in early March. I noticed I hadn't been getting text messages and tried to send some out and they wouldn't go. Plus, updates from Google Play would download but would never install. I tried several fixes online but it only made it worse. As a last resort, I backed up everything I could and tried to do a Factory Wipe/Reset. It wouldn't work, so I did a hard reset. It bricked my phone. I had all sorts of code written in red on my screen, and after powering it back on, it would not go past the AT&T logo. I figured it needed the ROM reloaded, but I was afraid to do anything that would void my warranty. I called tech support and he recommended taking it to a device service center near me, since it was still in warranty, or I could wait and have them send me a new phone and send this one back. I opted to drive to the service center because I couldn't be without my phone for who knows how many days it would be! The tech at the service center was very nice and he hooked up my phone and reflashed the ROM. It worked great after that, and he said if it was hardware that it would probably act up again within a week, and to not load anything on it for a few days to see if the symptoms returned. It's been a couple of weeks now and the symptoms have not returned.