Galaxy S3 Won't Boot after 4.4 Update Attempt

timco123

Jun 30, 2014
Visit site
My Samsung Galaxy S3 was on 4.3 yesterday and working fine. Not rooted. This morning it downloaded the 4.4 update, got to 100% Install and rebooted itself and now only makes it to the initial Samsung Galaxy S3 screen. Then it goes black. I downloaded the Stock OTA Update 4.3 I747UCUEMJB and put it on the phone micro SD card. Tried to "apply update from external storage" but got an error that begins with "assert failed: file_getprop("/system/build.prop", "ro.build.fingerprint")... E:Error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip (Status 7)"

And then it reboots and locks up again. Do I just have the wrong file? If so, where can I find a good SGH-I747 4.3 file?

I'm new to this so just tell me what else you would need to know.

Thanks!

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central :)
Unfortunately you can not downgrade to a previous Android version.
Try booting into recovery mode (Hold volume up + home + power) and wiping the cache partition. Then reboot and see if it gets past the boot animation.

timco123

Jun 30, 2014
Visit site
Thanks for the quick reply. Apparently I am impatient though because I tried to downgrade to 4.1 but got no further and now I can't get to recovery mode. Up Home Power no longer takes me there. It just reboots the phone. However, before I did that I did clear the cache and reboot with no luck. I'll be patient and wait for a response this time.

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
It did not work at all.

OK. In that case I'd pull out the battery for about half an hour and then try booting up again.
Would a factory reset be out of the question if you still can't get it to work?

Sent from my Galaxy S4 running SOKP 4.4.2

timco123

Jun 30, 2014
Visit site