Need help with themes...

morrison0880

Jun 16, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to Android, coming from my FrankenPre2 after giving up hope on webOS and HP. Picking up the Epic Touch has been great, besides the LOS and battery issues. I was pretty deep into modding the Pre, so I'm looking to do the same here.

My first thought was to try to modify the images on the Epic, but I am lost as to where to find the correct files to modify. I was able to change the icon for the messaging app and the Incoming/Outgoing phone call animation, but that's pretty much it. I don't know where to start with the phone app, since images seem to be spread out all over the place. Opening up the phone apk yeilds a ton of images, and I don't know which ones to change.

My question would be to any themers out there, or anyone familiar enough with Android. How do I know which images I need to edit? Is there a directory or a file list which gives corresponding locations to specific images, such as the "1" button or the "Call" button, or the launcher icons? Or is it more a process of trial and error? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to Android, coming from my FrankenPre2 after giving up hope on webOS and HP. Picking up the Epic Touch has been great, besides the LOS and battery issues. I was pretty deep into modding the Pre, so I'm looking to do the same here.

My first thought was to try to modify the images on the Epic, but I am lost as to where to find the correct files to modify. I was able to change the icon for the messaging app and the Incoming/Outgoing phone call animation, but that's pretty much it. I don't know where to start with the phone app, since images seem to be spread out all over the place. Opening up the phone apk yeilds a ton of images, and I don't know which ones to change.