Root Clarification

xBDoNx

Mar 18, 2012
Visit site
Ive spent some time browsing the forums and I cannot see a definitive way to root the Replenish once GB is installed. Im a total noob, so its best that I start by explaining my intentions of the root. I need to root only to remove the crap taking up the limited space this phone has to offer. Google Books, Sprint crapware, stuff i just dont use that came on the phone, etc (Bloatware). Other than that, I use the Go Theme Launcher and widgets with much satisfaction so I dont need anything overkill.

I also need a clear, certain method of unrooting so that I can file an insurance claim should I ever need to do so. Id much prefer no quirky stuff either, like constantly requesting an update as I have seen with the Phoenix ROM.

This may be too much to ask, or I may be too picky but the phone really does satisfy me and I dont feel the need to hack it to death. It just has limited space onboard and not everything can be moved to SD. Then that leads to the annoying icon always popping up talking about limited space.

Anyway, I appreciate any help I can get. Im not an electronics noob in general, just phones as this is my first phone outside of the "Feature" subset.

Thanks again.

Edit - Also need to know what all info will be lost in a root. Kind of unclear on that too. Obviously i need my contacts, etc and some app data intact.

Last edited:

anon(538593)

Oct 28, 2011
Visit site
^ There's currently only two ways of rooting this phone, either using the stock EK18 Gingerbread image, or Phoenix 0.2. Both of these methods cannot be upgraded to FA19, so you're going to get the update notification either way, which is something you didn't want.

Personally, I'd wait until Phoenix 0.3. If you can't wait that long, there's an exploit you can use to move more apps to the SD card without needing root access. You'll need the Android SDK on your computer for that though.

anon(335536)

May 27, 2011
Visit site