Question SD card internal storage problem.

Chadta

Sep 10, 2023
Visit site
Im using a lenovo tablet, and i had originally set my sd card as internal storage, i have ejected the card to put a bigger one in, and now have no way to access the stuff that was on my old sd card.

Is there anything i can do ?

I cant view sd card on my pc, and when i put it back in my device it wants me to format it.

any ideas ?

sorry im very new to android as ive always used fruit phones

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! The problem with formatting the card as internal storage is that it gets encrypted to be used by that device only. It may be that by formatting a new card as internal storage, you've made it impossible to access the data from the older one, since the tablet has essentially forgotten that encryption key in favor of the new key for the new card. I'm not sure if you'll be able to access that old data any more, sorry. :(

Adoptable Storage has always been an imperfect solution. Other pitfalls include slower performance (since SD card read/write speeds are always slower than onboard storage) and the potential for system crashes if/when the card fails (and SD cards have a much higher rate of failure than onboard storage). It's always better to get a device that already has a lot of internal storage built-in. SD cards are best used as Portable Storage (ie, for documents, media, photos, etc.).

joeldf

Dec 19, 2011
Visit site
Im using a lenovo tablet, and i had originally set my sd card as internal storage, i have ejected the card...
...and that was your second mistake right there.

First mistake was setting it as internal storage to begin with. While totally possible and allowed, it comes with caveats - foremost being you should never remove it. At least not without preparation which you did not do.