Transfer RCS between Samsung and Google Messages

TheAngryToaster

Sep 14, 2020
Visit site
Question, I want to start to use google messages as the default. The only thing is I have chat conversations that don't transfer from the Samsung messaging app to google messages. Whole pieces of conversations are just missing some of which I would like to keep with out having to go back into Samsung messages. Is there a way to get these messages to appear in the google messages app?

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site
Once you switch to Google message app leave it as default for little bit maybe force close also and see if they repopulate again

ABOSWORTH007

Oct 8, 2013
Visit site
I think when you switch to a new messaging app, it will only show you the messages that are sent to you and not all the messages you've sent. I've run into this as well when I've switched. I've been using Google messages for a couple years now.

TheAngryToaster

Sep 14, 2020
Visit site
Once you switch to Google message app leave it as default for little bit maybe force close also and see if they repopulate again

Its the RCS messages that don't transfer from Samsung messages to google messages. I am going to back up my messages delete all of them and the restore them with google messages as default and set up for RCS.

TheAngryToaster

Sep 14, 2020
Visit site
Ok try that way and let us know.

Does not work, the only way rcs get backed up is if its from the google messages app. Its interesting because I noticed that if I send a RCS message in google messages. It appears in the Samsung messages as an mms message. Would be nice if it worked both ways, oh well. I am switching over in preparation for when I get my pixel 5. Unless in the transfer and setup process the RCS messages get brought over as well.

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site