Facebook syncing contacts.

tkm20

May 17, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to the whole android OS, got my first droid today actually. So go easy on me :p

Quick issue I'm having syncing my contacts with facebook. Verizon transferred my contacts from my previous phone to my Charge. Saying that, after installing the FB app, i used the sync option that said "sync with existing contacts". After the sync was finished I went to "Contacts" at the front of my phone and saw that the sync didn't bring anything from FB over. When I go to "Messaging" -> "New message" -> and then "Contacts", it shows every single one of my facebook friends (with pictures) along with all my "transferred contacts".

The way Verizon transfers contacts over to a new phone, do people usually have issues similar to this? Think I will need to remove all my contacts and add them one by one? Thanks for the help!

Wicket

Aug 14, 2010
Visit site
best solution and advice EVER is take all those contacts that Verizon transfered over and export them (think you can do this by pressing "Menu" in your contacts list and choosing "Export"), then go into GMail and import them. What Verizon did was make you have "Phone Contacts" and maybe that's fine but it's just way to convenient to have everything wrapped up in your Google account, you never have to worry about backing them up cause it's all in Gmail. It might take some time to merge and edit them but in the end it's very worth it. Also as for what shows in you contacts list again pressing "Menu" in your contacts list choose view and there are different options for what you see. and to go even further you may have to link Facebook contacts with the current contacts, especially if the names are slightly different between them.. hope this helps!

tkm20

May 17, 2011
Visit site