charging cords (home/car)

ellisz

Jan 9, 2010
Visit site
Are you re-using other micro usb charging cables? I have the car charger I used on my Strom and Droid but the connector is a little thick after the micro usb plug. It seems to work but feels like it is not inserted all the way.

Also, I noticed the droid plug is a slightly different output voltage and amperage.

Are you re-using yours? I like to have a charger where ever I go :)

Cory Streater

Sep 21, 2009
Visit site
I'm not an electronics expert, but I do know that at a very minimum you want the amperage to at least the same as the stock charger.

ellisz

Jan 9, 2010
Visit site
Good thing is the blackberry cable is the same. I hate the motorola and samsung cables. They are too short. I guess I need to hit ebay to see if there are travel chargers available.

Thanks.

Martian

Sep 11, 2010
Visit site
I'm not an electronics expert, but I do know that at a very minimum you want the amperage to at least the same as the stock charger.

For chargers the voltage needs to be the same as stock (anything USB should be 5 V)

For a charger the amperage is much less important. The device (phone in this case) can only charge so fast therefore a higher amperage rating than stock isn't really going to do anything (unless the stock charger is under powered). Using a charger with a lower amperage rating should only result in the device charging slower.

Example: Many people complain that their phones charge slower when connected to their computer (especially laptops) then to a standalone charger. This is in fact true. PC USB ports are only designed to source 500 mA (half an amp) of current and many laptop USB ports can't even source that much. Many standalone chargers can source 1 A plus.

Hope this helps.

Martian

Sabban

Jul 11, 2010
Visit site