Possible hack via car usb...

dewulfe

Jan 8, 2024
Visit site
Hi, first post here, please be kind :)

So I'm an Uber driver, and have a Kia Niro with two usb ports in the front console - one for connecting with the main screen (for media and navigation), and the other just for charging.
My phone is a Samsung S9+ (running Android 10), connected via usb to run navigation and music apps in the car.

Now I had an Uber passenger in my car yesterday who asked to use the charger for his iPhone. But when the passenger plugged his phone into the 'power only' usb, he said it didn't work....didn't charge. Not thinking about it, I quickly switched the apple cable into the main USB port, which he said did work. In hindsight, I feel like I shouldn't have connected a stranger's phone to my car's system.

Later on I checked the power usb port - it worked for my Android phone (but I don't have an iPhone to test it with).

And just today, I plugged my phone into my Win 10 laptop via usb - something I meant not to do until I was sure my phone could not be infected (doh!).
AND as soon as I did that, the 'Photos' application on the laptop booted up - and I haven't seen that happen for a long, long time. Usually plugging the phone won't do anything except make it available to browse via Windows Explorer. Tho sure, I think I've seen that sort of thing (booting an app on device connection) happen sometimes in the distant past, and Microsoft could have programmed that behaviour in an automatic update. Fwiw, it also opened a photo I'd looked at recently on the laptop.