Fix for DL09 USB Connectivity/VCast Issue on PC (AKA Bootstrap is not your friend)

mer

Dec 24, 2010
Visit site
Playing Field:
Tested on:
- Windows XP SP3 PC (tested on two computers, one had samsung drivers, one had never had the phone plugged into it before)
- Fascinate with recent OTA DL09, never been rooted, pretty much stock (just Launcher Pro). Stock Kernel 2.6.29. (Might provide info location of guilty app in the phone OS for those with root access).
- McAfee Security-As-A-Service Virus Scanner (similar may also work - not needed for solution 3)
- Warning: I'm not a developer, but pretty good at troubleshooting.

Problem:
After OTA baseband update (FYI, you can only defer the update once), USB connectivity is impaired. Device shows as a CD ROM drive and no contents of SD Card are shown.
OR
You install the crap it wants you to install, it then open IE every time you plug in the phone and takes you to the V Cast website.

Company Line:
I just spent two hours on the phone with Samsung/Verizon and they did not have a solution for this. All Samsung was able to do was confirm that the issue is in the OS of phone after update, it's not in the SD card. I had the Verizon tech submit this to their equipment guys and hopefully it will become part of their knowledge base and save everyone some time.
Sure no problems with PCs, yeah, whatever.

Solution 1 - My Fav:
- Home, Menu, Settings, USB Settings, Check "Mass storage"
- Plug in phone to computer
- If McAfee or another virus scanner pops up asking to allow/block "\DosDevices\E:\ToolLaunder-Bootstrap.exe" or something similar. Select block. (If no pop up, later go to your virus scanners applications list and block access to this... for me it was under "ToolLauncher")
- Pop up that computer wants to install Samsung/Verizon software to help you access your device called Atlas (SCH-I500)
- Click Yes.
- Wait 10-30 seconds for "USB Connected" to appear in notifications bar. Tap and "Mount."