S3 vs iPhone 4S Camera Comparison Shots

xand83

Apr 5, 2011
Visit site
Hi all,

I've had my new blue Galaxy S3 for about 3 days now and it is fantastic. Coming from an iPhone 4S, I'm pretty happy with all the doodads that I can fiddle with now to get the phone just right for me. The only thing I was *really* hesitant about was the camera quality. While sitting on the couch last night I took a pic of my dog and the picture came out awful. Just terrible. I almost put the S3 in the box right then to ship it back.

I cooled off today and decided to take some actual comparison shots with both phones. I did a mix of indoor & outdoor. Now, I'm by no means a professional photographer, but I do like my quick shots to look good. The 4S always excelled in that area and, after some side by sides, I'm actually pretty happy with the S3 now. The outdoor colors are punchier on the S3, but the iPhone does a better job of smoothing over indoor images to make them look better. I think the iPhone also does a better job with tap to focus and changing the light exposure depending on where you tap.

I believe I'll be keeping the S3. If you like, I put up the comparison shots on my Flickr page. All the pics were taken with "Auto" everything selected on both cameras (with the exception of 1 macro shot).

Galaxy S III vs. iPhone 4S Camera Comparison - a set on Flickr

jneusch

May 18, 2011
Visit site
Nice comparison. I came from a 4S also and my thoughts have been about the same. IMO all cell phone cameras struggle with indoor shots due to their lens size, but the 4S does do a better job than the GS3.

Tarpit_Carnivore

Jul 4, 2010
Visit site
Nice comparison. I came from a 4S also and my thoughts have been about the same. IMO all cell phone cameras struggle with indoor shots due to their lens size, but the 4S does do a better job than the GS3.

This is true. Lowlight, indoor shots will always look bad no matter what.

Also props to the corgi for being such a good model.

Photo_Drew