Okay, I need some help... Lots of questions about installing roms

ThisisSpencerPaul

Jul 23, 2011
Visit site
Hey Everyone,

Sorry for my nubbishness, I'm new to the whole concept of rooting. I'm dumbfounded when it comes to installing a new ROM. I used a Gingerbreak on my LG optimus V last night, Worked fine. All rooting features are perfect. Now for the rom part, I just downloaded a "Bumblebee" Rom so that I could overclock my phone, Due to Bumblebee having a Kernal which allows you to do so. It's a zip file and I was wondering if I'm using the app "Rom Manager" (Not premium because the apk file wouldn't download to my phone:'() do I unzip the Rom folder? Where do I put it in order to use Rom Manager's convienient Install and flash rom feature? Well, Hopefully there is a little hope there for this noob :p

Thanks everyone,
Spencer

EDIT: Nevermind, I just took my chances with the .Zip and grew some hair on my peaches, Installation was a success.

Last edited:

Eollie

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site
Re: Okay, I need some help... Lots of questions about installing

There is some sticky posts in the rom, hacks section that will help you do what you want.
Dont rely on rom manager to install the ROM for you . Manually flashing the rom is your best bet.

http://forums.androidcentral.com/op...guide-optimus-v-modding-read-get-started.html

Everything you need to know can be found in that thread.
Please read that thread throughly and ask any questions in it. You will find pretty much anything you need to know about what you want to do in there.

Welcome to android and Android Central.

camf3xu

Jun 27, 2011
Visit site