Google announces Android M, coming in Developer Preview before a Q3 release.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
They're announcing M while L is still loaded with bugs. Typical. I'll pass.

"The first big feature is selective app permissions, which lets you pick and choose which permissions you let an app have." Yawn. I've had an app to do that for ages.

"Another large bit of Android M is the new payment initiative, Android Pay." Another yawn. I've been using plastic for almost 50 years, and my swiping fingers haven't worn out yet.

"Android M is also integrating with fingerprint sensors at the system level" Translation - we need a reason for 75% of our customers to buy new hardware - the manufacturers are looking at an almost saturated market.

"Google says that a Nexus 9 running on M can get almost twice the battery life as one running Lollipop." I'm getting the same life on 4.3 as my wife gets on 5.0. So another yawn.

"There's also a new Google Chrome experience"Which I only use for things that other browsers won't do (like adding printers to my Google cloud account), so I don't care.

"Android M also includes app-to-app linking" Finally. Someone at Google actually looked at what Linux can do.

Now how about some real innovations? Like multiboot? Like putting back the external SD card and stop confusing people by naming a folder in internal storage "sdcard" and making it the 0 device? Like going back to removable batteries? Like taking out the emulator and making Android apps run in native code (meaning that all the CPUs used in Android phones will have to run the same instruction set)? Boy, does Apple have Google over a barrel on that one. With a 12 foot kangaroo-skin bull whip.

Explicit

Sep 4, 2010
Visit site

"The first big feature is selective app permissions, which lets you pick and choose which permissions you let an app have." Yawn. I've had an app to do that for ages.