I run a band and we have tablets that hold our music.

The band is reading the charts (music) and when I want to tell them what song is next, I don't want to have to mouth out to 10 people what song is next.

Is there an app that i can simply type a message and that message splashes onscreen to their tablets or notifies them of the message even when they're in another app to tell them what song is next?

I'm new to android so forgive my lack of knowledge.

thanks!
    11-21-2016 03:49 PM
    Welcome to Android Central! Maybe try something like Popup SMS.

EDIT: Sorry, but I just realized that this won't work over Bluetooth, and your tablets are presumably not LTE enabled. Let me think about this some more.

Ok, here's another idea -- assuming all of the tablets can connect to wi-fi, you could use Hangouts to send a Hangouts IM to your band as a group. When they receive the message, they should see a banner notification with the message (although I think this requires devices with Lollipop or above), even if they're in another app.
    11-21-2016 08:40 PM
    Welcome to Android Central! Maybe try something like Popup SMS.

EDIT: Sorry, but I just realized that this won't work over Bluetooth, and your tablets are presumably not LTE enabled. Let me think about this some more.

Ok, here's another idea -- assuming all of the tablets can connect to wi-fi, you could use Hangouts to send a Hangouts IM to your band as a group. When they receive the message, they should see a banner notification with the message (although I think this requires devices with Lollipop or above), even if they're in another app.
    Thank you so much for the info.

I'm new to Android.

I have 7 Insignia 10" tablets. I'm not sure what version OS they're on...I'm assuming the latest OS?

They're NOT LTE enabled. Wifi or bluetooth only.