I am new to Android. I have been using Windows Phone for the last seven years, and while I love it, it's dead. Needlessto say I am very used to how the Photos app on WP works. To me it was very logical: all the photos in the Pictures folder could be viewed from the app by going to the folders tab.

With Google Photos, I can't seem to view anything that was not taken by the camera. I can't add the old Pictures folder to Google Photos (I am using the microSD card from my Windows Phone in the Android phone). I even moved some of the folders with pictures into the DCIM folder, but they still do not show up.

I also turned off syncing with the Google Photos cloud service because I have the phone uploading everything to OneDrive.

So how do I get the app to display all the photos I have on the microSD?
    10-01-2018 08:36 AM
    Welcome to Android Central! The main Google Photos feed will show you all photos in the local Camera folder as well as any photo that was backed up/synced to your Google Photos in the cloud. Other photos in other folders won't show up if they're not synced to your Google Photos cloud. To do that, open the Photos app, tap Menu>Device Folders, and look for the folder that has the images you want to sync/backup to Google Photos in the cloud. Tap the cloud icon at the lower right of that folder, and those items will then sync to your Google Photos cloud, and therefore show up in the main feed.

The Google Photos app is understandably not everyone's cup of tea, especially if you're used to the traditional AOSP basic gallery app format. If you want to try a 3rd party gallery, give Focus a try. It's from a well-known and trusted ROM developer, so you don't have to worry about any sneaky hidden stuff like ads or unwanted features (which many 3rd party gallery apps throw in there).
    10-01-2018 11:01 AM