Which is best to have ad blocker app or extension

ValYooNeek

Apr 16, 2013
Visit site
I need some help from the forum...I need a good ad blocker. I go back and forth between Google Chrome and IE for my internet search. My biggest pet peeve is all those ads and popup videos! They r driving me nuts! On my laptop I have avg internet security, malwarebytes, SAS to help fight the battle of viruses, malware, spyware but I need a good adblocker. Im not tech savvy, frankly, I'm sooo afraid that I'll crash my laptop with one of my visit to a unsafe site, that it prevents me from truly enjoying the net. So, I was adviced to get the ad blocker advisor app from google or should I get an ad blocker extension? I realize I really dont know the difference.,,an app or extension? Is there one for IE too? It's all kinda confusing! Can anyone simplify it for me?

Mooncatt

Ambassador
Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
Something else to consider is a HOSTS file. In laymens terms, it's the address book stored on your computer similar to a network based I.p. lookup service. I.E. (not sure about other browsers, but since you said you use it...) first looks to see if you have a HOSTS file to look up an I.p. address for a domain name before sending a DNS request. If the domain is listed in the file, it goes to that i.p. address and doesn't even check DNS.

What this allows is you can manually change what address any domain goes to. You could make it so entering the URL www.Google.com actually goes to the I.p. address for www.yahoo.com instead. (That could make for a fun prank, now that I think about it) 127.0.0.1 is the local address for any computer, meaning for the info requested from your browser to be shown, it would have to be stored locally.