Android Data Recovery Software Questions

SDChipDroid

Oct 22, 2018
Visit site
Hello,

I have a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge running Oreo that was factory reset due to an error in an update. I have spent hours looking at different data recovery s/w options. It looks like many of them require rooting, something I have never done before. I don't care about voiding a warranty, but do not want to brick the phone either.

My main goal is to recover my SMS texts (ones that are in the messaging app and ones that I have saved/archived over the years) as well as my apps. Most of my photos were on an external card and are fine. I also have my contacts saved to Verizon Cloud.

I have downloaded free trial versions of several data recovery apps and all of them say I will get the best results if I root the phone. When I scan my unrooted phone, they only discover a few messages and contacts.

Is there any app that can recover a decent percent of my lost files without rooting the phone?

If I need to root the phone, I like the idea of simple one button rooting. Yet, how do I know that I am not installing some nasty malware? I found a site that recommended KingoRoot, iRoot, and KingRoot. Anyone have actual experience with these apps?

What about apps like PhoneRescue for Android that have there own built-in rooting s/w. Are these any good?

I'm overloaded with info and looking for advice on a tried and tru solution, hopefully for under $50.

Thanks!

P.S. Apps I looked at:
MiniTool Mobile Recovery for Android
MiniTool Power Data Recovery
FoneLab for Android
PhoneRescue for Android

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
1. Data (actually file) recovery requires rooting. The file's entry in the directory itself has to be changed, and only root can access the directory directly.

2. Deleted texts aren't deleted files, they're texts that are sitting in the SMS database file, and marked deleted, rather than active.