How to disable Google Maps automatic update?

biasmaster

Jun 16, 2011
Visit site
I am new with android. I have recently bought a Samsung Galaxy S, and Google Maps came installed on the phone. Now if I enter Android Market, then Google Maps is automatically updated, if there is an update. I have checked it under My apps, but there is no Automatic update checkbox as for other programs I downloaded from the market. Is there a way to disable this automatic update for Google Maps? I would be great, if I could choose when it should be updated, because its not funny, when my 3G limit is exceeded with Google Maps updates. :'(

Moscow Desire

Troubleshooter
Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
Can you uninstall it? I would try that, then download the version from the market and see if it has the update chek box.

Knowing carriers, and how sly they are, it wouldn't surprise me if they had their own special version designed to increase your data usage.

Reactions: biasmaster

CaMelGuY1337

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site
I am new with android. I have recently bought a Samsung Galaxy S, and Google Maps came installed on the phone. Now if I enter Android Market, then Google Maps is automatically updated, if there is an update. I have checked it under My apps, but there is no Automatic update checkbox as for other programs I downloaded from the market. Is there a way to disable this automatic update for Google Maps? I would be great, if I could choose when it should be updated, because its not funny, when my 3G limit is exceeded with Google Maps updates. :'(

Hmm...well since there isn't a box to uncheck to prevent it from updating, I think I might know a solution. Have you tried a firewall app? Like Droidwall for instance. You can set it up to block whatever you from accessing the network and thus not run through your data limit. :)

Market link: http://market.android.com/details?id=com.googlecode.droidwall.free

Sent from my evil hideout. MUWHAHAHAHA!!!!!!

biasmaster

Jun 16, 2011
Visit site