Newbie in da house

GdsSrv

Mar 25, 2011
Visit site
im new to this flashing and rooting thing could someone give me a hint on how to mget started i have several new android fhones in my posession i also have cdma workshop and qpst along with a lot of other flashing tools and software can u help a brother out.......

beeker64

Mar 18, 2011
Visit site
I flashed my Shift about a week ago and everything works great. Here are the guides I used. Read/watch everything first and in order. This should take about 2hrs, but you'll understand what is going on by the end. If you have a Shift I would try out the Mikshift Rom with x99 Kernel- both are well made and run perfect on my machine (Links to the XDA threads about them at the very bottom.) The Shift also has the benefit of not being a one stop root procedure, so you'll probably come away with a good understanding of the process for any Android. I am not responsible for any damage etc to you phones, social life, existential outlook, nor personal grooming.
1st-A general knowledge thread
Beginners Guide To Roms + Backup Discussion

2nd- Two easy Evo Shift Root Thread (Cross reference them) and a video
Rooting A Shift For Dummies

Big D's Awesome Guide to Rooting and Backing Up a Shift

Perm Rooting Shift Video

3rd
Flashing Roms & Kernels
Flashing a Custom Rom with Backup

JJB61's Uber-Safe Directions From an XDA Thread
Here is a little insight from someone who tests just about every ROM put out. Here were the steps I took and after taking these steps EVERYTHING that was posted worked 100%.

1) Backed up my text messages and all the apps I wanted to save. Used SMS Backup and Titanium Backup.

2) Rebooted into recovery and wiped everything; Dalvik Cache and Full Data

3) I installed the ROM only then booted the phone to ensure it was working

4) Rebooted into recovery

5) Installed all tweaks, mods and the green theme then rebooted the phone to ensure everything was working.

6) Installed Titanium Backup