Is Hero enough for me?

me_2D

May 29, 2010
Visit site
Hi all. Shopping for a new phone and looking for input. Thinking about the Hero and want to know if it's going to be a good phone for me. I've read tons and tons of reviews that get very technical (I'm an analyst by trade and have a bad habit of researching the heck out of everything) and now I'm in information overload.

Let me just say upfront I'm not a techie. I do use technical software all day at work, and am not afraid to push buttons to figure out how things work, but basically, I just want my phone to do the things I need it to do and not really concerned about having the most elaborate toy and a million apps. This will be my first smartphone - my last phone was purchased 4+ yrs ago and doesn't even have a camera, so anything is a far cry above what I have now. (Words like "rooting" and "ROM" were completely foreign to me as I began to read the posts on this site.) I know everyone is wild about the Evo, but I feel like me going right to Evo is like going from an old Ford Pinto to a Ferrari. I am thinking perhaps I enter into the smartphone world with something like a Hero, and then in a year, maybe the Evo (my city is scheduled to have 4G service very soon.) Good idea? Bad idea?

What I need to be able to do in a timely manner:

access internet
send/receive email
send/receive calls
send/receive text - reluctantly (I don't currently text)
take an occasional picture
view an occasional photo or video
use a few apps

I am a Sprint Premiere customer currently eligible for upgrade. Planning to switch to the Everything Data Plan. I just want a phone that's not going to be totally slow, not cost me a fortune, and allows me to check email during the day since the firewall at work does not allow me access to my home email.

Any advice or tips you can give will be appreciated. You all know much more than me about this stuff.

Thanks!

d

trooper54

Apr 19, 2010
Visit site