A Few Questions Before I Buy

NinjaBlob

Jul 19, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys! I'm new to Android, and am hoping to make the One X my first Android phone. My only smartphone up until now has been an iPhone 4, and while it has served me well these past two years, I'm looking for a little more freedom in my smartphone (I also just purchased an iPad, so the iPhone's feeling kind of redundant at this point). I've been heavily researching various Android phones the past week or so and I think I've settled on the One X. The Galaxy SIII was a close second for its expandable storage, but I figure I can export most of my music library (a good 10 GB) to Google Music and make do with the One X's 16 GB, and in my hands-on experiences I found the build and screen of the One X to be superior to the SIII's (although there was only a slight difference in the latter).

Anyway, I'm planning on making the switch tomorrow, but I wanted to check a few nagging worries with some people with actual experience with the phone, hence this post. Here are my remaining questions:

(for reference, I will be purchasing the AT&T version of the One X)

1. I have no experience with Android phones, but I'm not afraid to tinker around and mess with things. I'm a sophomore computer science major, so I have average Java and HTML (doubt that's relevant but thought I'd mention it) knowledge and not much else so far. How difficult will it be for me to root, unlock, and install ROMs to my phone, should I choose to? How safe is it? Can I easily reset back to factory settings should I choose to?

2. Can the newest version of the HTC firmware be rooted, unlocked, etc? I can't seem to find a definite answer.

3. If I do root/unlock, will I still be able to (relatively easily) upgrade to Jelly Bean when HTC releases an upgrade?

4. I know unlocking voids the warranty. Does resetting the phone to factory settings "unvoid" it?