cheapo ebay 3500 mah battery fails...any work around?

Nomad6677#AC

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
Okay so i'm fairly new to my new droid x ive had for about 3 weeks now (came from a bb so im not too noobish with the whole smartphone fundamentals) and i bought an el cheapo ebay hong kong knock off 3500 maH battery for my droid x. It works and i dont get the "?" error message but according to the battery indicator its supposed to be dead.

Im guessing that the OS doesn't recognize the extended capacity of this cheapo battery because its still stuck on 5% remaining and ive been blasting away at some emulators for about an hour and it hasnt died at 5% remaining.

Am i correct with this assumtion? Is there any way to get around this and make the system recognize the full capacity of this el cheapo? I know ya get what ya pay for but i figured id post on here if theres a solution at all before i turn this thing into a paper weight. Thanks everyone!

albertdc

Dec 14, 2009
Visit site
Did it start off showing 100%? With a slow decline to 5% and then it stayed there and kept working? Or did it never register higher?

If it started at 100%, I wonder if it needs a couple of discharge / recharge cycles to calibrate? I would think it would merely be based on voltage, but maybe there is more yo it?

Sorry I couldn't actually help - just throwing an idea out there.

Nomad6677#AC

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
It started out showing 5% then rapidly died within about 3-4 hours...while it was stuck on 5% and i was blasting away at it i downloaded the only app i could find on the market place that said it supported third party batteries, and sure enough it showed 68% remaining....

So at this point im guessing that the android OS is just not recognizing the correct capacity? Is there any work around that anyone knows about? Even if it involves rooting?

Rocko

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
non-oem batteries=NEVER.