No Visual HD call on TMobile Unlocked?

ScottRx82

Dec 10, 2009
Visit site
So on my T-Mobile Note 9 variant, I would usually see the "HD" symbol when on a phone call. With my unlocked 10+ on TMobile, I haven't seen that symbol once. I'm trying to compare the call quality to what I remember it being like on my Note 9, but to those who might know, is the lack of the HD symbol on the unlocked a sign it isn't HD? Or is it just a visual incorporated in the TMobile call interface that isn't on the unlocked model?

jlangner

Oct 9, 2016
Visit site
I wondered same. I saw on XDA people saying it does work but symbol is part t-mobile firmware so won't show. I have unlocked and was same until I put t-mobile fw on it.

ScottRx82

Dec 10, 2009
Visit site
ok, thanks. that's what I figured. I'm tempted to flash T-Mobile fw, but I've never done that before. Don't wanna brick my phone lol

Lepa79

Apr 5, 2015
Visit site
ok, thanks. that's what I figured. I'm tempted to flash T-Mobile fw, but I've never done that before. Don't wanna brick my phone lol
Why would you buy an unlocked and then ending up flashing TMobile firmware? I mean just got a TMobile phone then. Just saying. It makes no sense.

anon(10509503)

Aug 21, 2018
Visit site

It's very easy, almost foolproof really. I just got my unlocked on Friday and tomorrow I'll be putting the TMo firmware on it at work. I already have the files and Odin downloaded and my old phone already pre-backed up with SmartSwitch. It's literally boot your device into download mode and put the correct file into the correctly named slot with the right version of Odin and you're gold.

Nostromo79

Mar 29, 2016
Visit site
I didn't consider myself still have my note 9 until I seen that deal..

I had two Note9s until the 23rd of August. The one I sent to Samsung as a trade-in was the 128GB model I bought as a placeholder when there was a problem with my Verizon order last year. As soon as I gave that Note9 to the FedEx driver I felt separation anxiety.