Can I flash a n9005 ROM onto n9000W8

emad1995

Jul 6, 2013
Visit site
I see that the official lollipop update has been out for the LTE version of the note 3 (n9005) and from what I can tell the hardware in n9005 and n9000W8 is the same. So, is it possible to flash an n9005 rom onto am n900W8 device? I am a noob with this whole flashing thing so take it easy on me please :'(

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
I've done it with the N900A, the AT&T version (the ROM had to be modified, of course, because the A has a locked bootloader) so I can't see any problem.

EXCEPT - downdating past a major rev. IOW, 4.4.4 to 4.4.2 is no problem. 5 to 4 may be. Check with the developers at T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3 Android Development - XDA Forums first. I'm sure some of them have done it, and they can tell you whether it's something you can't recover from. (When you're a developer, you expect to destroy a few phones.)

To be sure, have a copy of an N900W8 ROM ready to flash if it goes sideways. (SamMobile Firmwares if you don't have one - and you'll have to create a free account to download the file.)

Read [Samsung] How to flash Stock ROM via ODIN if you're not familiar with Odin.

(The first time your phone doesn't start up, you panic. The 100th time it doesn't start up, you kick yourself for doing something so stupid and wasting time, then you flash a working ROM - and die of boredom. Watching grass grow in the winter is more exciting and pushing your hair back into place is more scary.)