My first 24 hours with the things I was looking for in the Note 4.

droidntn

Jul 4, 2010
Visit site
I just came from a 2 year old S4 to this phablet. First phablet for me. Like most everyone else, it only took a few hours for me to fall in love with this phone. I've not even touched on all of it's lil goodies to play around with, but I really do love how it is quick and hardly any, if ever, lag. I'm still learning the S-pen gig. I'm just going to share a few key points that I looked at in making this decision and how those key points panned out for me, so far.
Size: I'm 6'4" and it's perfect for my big hand and my big head. I had worried it would be too big. I really enjoy the bigger real estate screen. At 53, my eyes (and contacts) make good use of the bigger screen.
Battery: Really good. I did spent a LOT of time playing with it yesterday, moving in so to speak. So I did use a lot of battery. No location on, no auto sync. After 12 hours, I was down to 20 percent. So I explored this 'Ultra power saving mode.' Unexpected awesome. It shuts down everything, grays the screen and leaves you with just a basic communication device with only text and phone abilities. With the 20 % left, in Ultra power saving mode, I have 4 days left. lol. And then with just a swipe, you go back into regular mode. To be honest, I sort of liked that ability to just keep ALL things off unless I need them. It turns the phone from a smartphone to a dumbphone for awhile. And that's ok.
It's kind of like shutting the TV off if you know you need to study. You know you CAN turn the phone on, but it'll keep you from constantly feeling that weird need to check whats going on with your phone. Later, take it off that mode and catch up and enjoy the amazing device. But really, for most of us,text and phone is all we basically 'need' most of the time.