Nexus 7 vs Samsung Note 8

AldousSnow

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site
I've been using the Nexus 7 for a few months and loved it from day one. I recently gave it to my wife to replace her broken Ipad. I used the opportunity to check out the Note 8, because I'm a fan of Samsung products. I own a Note 3, Samsung Smart TV, and a Note 10.1. I'm also heavily invested in the Samsung Media Hub, with over $300 in movies purchased. So, I figure the Note 8 would be perfect. I was wrong.

8 inches is NOT the sweet spot. My hands are considered large and yet, I struggled to hold it with one hand. You have to stretch and use your pinky finger to balance the device, and this would just strain my finger. The Nexus 7, I would be able to hold in one hand comfortably.

The display. I could end my review on this point alone. The resolution is sub-par on every level. I shouldn't have been surprised..... Every review states the same thing, but I was. Again, Nexus wins hands down.

Lo and behold..... Samsung Media Hub is not compatible with this device. After almost a year of being released...... ridiculous.

After calling Samsung, I felt even more frustrated.... And I'm pretty sure this thing will never see 4.4.

Case selection is a joke. The official book cover an even bigger joke.

It's only been 5 days, I wanted to give it a full week. Back to Best Buy, it goes and for the price I paid, I can get the 32 gb Nexus 7 with LTE and 200mb free data a month with T-mobile.

Your mileage may vary.

Posted via Android Central App

Last edited by a moderator:

Darth Mo

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Re: Nexus 7 .vs Samsung Note 8

Since you made no mention of the S Pen, the Note 8 simply is not for you...