What is eating away my data in the background?

skedzinger

Oct 25, 2012
Visit site
Hi there,

after 2 weeks of usage I am already over my monthly data budget.

Internal data displays 379MB for Android Os - all others reasonable to what I used them for.

I just installed my data manager and within 10 minutes without touching it it displayed:

Android System 2MB
OS Services 284KB

As I am new to Android, I'd appreciate if you could point me in the right direction for finding whats causing it.

drmaf894c

Apr 26, 2012
Visit site
You might un install all apps and start over one at a time to see which is draining your data. Also there is a built in data manager in the settings menu (settings - - data) that will allow you to limit the data you use so you won't go over.

Otherwise watch out for Facebook, emails, other services that run in the background to check things. Also watch Pandora and how many apps you download. All of those things are data. Could add up.

Hope it helps.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S III using Android Central Forums

skedzinger

Oct 25, 2012
Visit site
thanks drmaf894c,

but that would mean these apps (facebook, email, etc) don't account for themselves in the data usage overview - but in the Android System & OS Services.

If that would be the case - the overview by app is nonsense :p

funkylogik

May 21, 2012
Visit site
go to Data Usage in settings mate, scroll down a bit and youl see the biggest data users from top to bottom.
tap on one of the apps and theres a pie chart of what is background data.
if you feel that the app doesnt need to be using data in the background, check the lil box that limits it :)

global s3, UK. Ask me anything and ill reply even if its just an intelligent (or stupid) guess ;)

skedzinger

Oct 25, 2012
Visit site
hi Funky,

well - that's the point. I see the biggest spenders - far ahead is "Android OS" - and I don't know what it is doing all the time.

All the others seem reasonable compared to what I used them for.