New to smart phones. Getting free apps free?

MamaBear2014

May 14, 2014
Visit site
I'm totally new to smart phones, never had one before a week ago. I know what apps are, and know my way around PC's, just never had a smart phone.

Someone in another thread recommended that I get the FTPServer app, so I can see my phone on my PC through my home WiFi and be able to transfer files that way, instead of paying for bandwidth. ( I'm low income and got the 240 meg plan on Verizon, to start with. )

But I'm new to apps on a phone like this. The FTPServer app is apparently free, but how to I get free apps to my phone, without paying some site for them? For example, if I get this app at Play Store, won't they charge me for it? Or can I get free apps for free there? Some of this is kind of confusing to complete newbies.

Jon Jackson

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site
If it says it's free it's free. Google Play Store doesn't charge you for using their "site", if you want to purchase an app, you need to register your credit card with them.

bespinct

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
Like Jon said, the Play Store won't charge you for apps that are free. That isn't to say that all Free Apps in the Play Store are free. Many "free" apps have in app purchases to implement specific features or get rid of ads.

MamaBear2014

May 14, 2014
Visit site
Ah ok. What a mess.

Well I found that FTPServer app on the web and it says it's free, but I didn't see any way to get it to my phone, and didn't get far enough into it, to see if it has ads and all that.

Thanks guys.

Jon Jackson

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site
Ah ok. What a mess.

Well I found that FTPServer app on the web and it says it's free, but I didn't see any way to get it to my phone, and didn't get far enough into it, to see if it has ads and all that.

The Play store app should be on your home screen, use that to download the apps. Works best if you are on WIFI.

Thanks guys.

Jon Jackson

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site