First Smart Watch

itsnotmeitsyou

Feb 9, 2014
Visit site
I purchased the Gear S2 today, which is my first Smart Watch. I have a couple of questions..

First, is the classic worth the extra $50? I don't mind the appearance of the standard at all, isn't that the only difference? Amazon has the standard for $249 and the classic for $299 and most big box stores are price matching it, so I got the Gear S2 price matched for $249 at Best Buy. However, I'm having a little bit of buyer's remorse, wondering if I should've spent the extra $50 and purchased the classic for $300.

Second, what are good habits for keeping the watch running smoothly and preserving the battery on the watch and phone? Such as remote connection vs Bluetooth, etc?

Any other tips or tricks, or app recommendations, would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to the whole idea of using a smart watch as of a few hours ago, but I seem to have the basics down.

tdobynes

Dec 12, 2011
Visit site
As far as the price and model, that's ultimately up to you, if u have the extra $50, why not? I use a Moto 360 myself and I've loved it since the day I got it. I pull my phone out much less now and its fun to answers peoples questions about it, it makes you feel like you;re ahead of the technological curve. You're gonna love it. I would give it a full charge and just see how long it last through the day for the first couple of days to get a good reading for yourself in each setting ( remote vs bluetooth).

nickdeck

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Apart from how the two models look, the main difference is that the Classic will accept any 20mm watch band. With the Sport model, you're limited because of the attachment clips on the band.

We've heard rumors of Samsung coming out with adaptors which would allow that watch to accept any 20mm band, but they haven't been seen in the wild, as far as I know.

xisruno

Dec 27, 2013
Visit site
The classic looks more like a nice time piece rather then a smart watch.