CyanogenMod 7 vs Serendipity VII

Alex.Kim

Jul 9, 2011
Visit site
Hey guys. I'm new to android, and was wondering what the main differences were between CM7 and Serendipity (specifically for my Captivate). Which one is better for a newbie? Which one is more advanced? Thanks for your support. :)

ibejack96

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
Ok... They're both Gingerbread-based. HOWEVER, CM7 is AOSP-based, which means it's based on what you would find on a stock Nexus phone. Serendipity VII is based on the i9000 Gingerbread update (European Galaxy S). The weird part of this is that to install any i9000-based Gingerbread ROM, you have to change your bootloaders, which I don't want to mess with because it's hard to get back for me because I have issues with odin, which is why I'm staying with CM7. I run the nightlies (the versions of the ROM that come out pretty much every day), and they're really stable for me, but sometimes there are bugs that are also usually fixed with the next Nightly. The "stable" version of CM7 is RC1 at the moment... I tried it but switched back to nightlies because I found bugs, and couldn't wait until RC2 comes out. Serendipity may be more stable, I don't know, I used Serendipity when it was froyo-based and LOVED it, but you may want to just use CM7 because of the stuff with the bootloaders. I hope this helps, and feel free to hit that "thanks" button if it does. Also, feel free to ask questions to clarify if I confused you. :)

pittsm

Jan 18, 2011
Visit site
Good reply, pretty much sums it up.

I've been on both roms and I prefer serendipity by far. Its just way more stable with basically no issues.

Sent from my extremely awesome Captivate.

ibejack96

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
Here are some links to stuff that I was talking about:
Odin info
Installing bootloaders (couldn't find the thread here)