About to Jump from iOS but I have a few questions re: OS updates

Noldorian

Jun 20, 2012
Visit site
First off, howdy folks. This is my first post. I'm not new to tech but I am an Android noob so please bear with me.

I've been using a Blackberry for business e-mail & its BB Messenger for years (and I used to really like a hardware keyboard). I've also been using an iPhone (3g & 4) for years for its browsing and various excellent (non-gaming) apps.

I've finally decided to switch to Android, specifically the Samsung Galaxy 3. Reason being is that I've gotten over my dislike for software keyboards (so having the Blackberry isn't a big plus anymore, plus my Blackberry hardware and software feels like dinosaur - just awful.) Also, I'll be dumping my iPhone 4. It's ok but I'm very, very tired of a small screen as well as Apple preventing me from customizing my phone (iOS jailbreaking is pretty unstable situation) and the hardware has a locked battery plus no way to add in a SD card. I love that I can do that with the S3.

I know, it's nothing you folks don't know already, I just thought I'd preface my question.

What I'm worried about with Android, is updating the OS.

I mean, Blackberry was a p.o.s. in terms of carrier updates so I essentially used the same terrible OS for four years. iPhone, on the other hand, is pretty damn good in the way it handles OS as it comes directly from Apple as well as app updates from the App Store. Basically, I don't want to get into another Blackberry situation (terrible updating situation) with Android.