Adding contacts to phone not syncing with Google.

Goneeuro

Jun 18, 2011
Visit site
So when I put a new contact into my phone it doesn't upload to Google. Is there a setting i need to change. Its a little annoying. I didn't realize it wasn't doing until i did a master reset and all my new contacts that i added were gone. So i added one and checked online and it wasn't there. How to I make this work. I don't want to have to add every contact online and wait for them to push to my phone. Sorry, new to this android thing.

Jennuine03

Oct 11, 2011
Visit site
I'm not sure of any other way, but you wouldn't necessarily have to wait for it to push to your phone. You could add the contact in google and then go to settings > accounts & sync > gmail > sync contacts and they'd come through then.

I'm still learning the Droid, too. So there very well could be another way that I don't know of yet.

wla2000

Nov 28, 2011
Visit site
I have the same problem with my Samsung Infuse. I can add contacts successfully at gmail.com on my computer, and they sync within moments to my phone. But I want to be able to add contacts on my phone and have them get stored at gmail.com. I've seen lots of talk about how to do this with HTC phones, but none of that seems to apply to my Samsung.

If you can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it!

fightfan

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
I have an HTC Droid Incredible phone myself, so this might not apply to you. For me, when I add a contact, I have the option of adding as type "Phone" or type "Gmail." If I add it as a "Phone," it does NOT get synced up to my gmail account. Unfortunately, "Phone" is the default, and I have to remember to keep changing it to gmail.