Almost dead Optimus S - killed by widget

TonyHinNY

Sep 6, 2011
Visit site
My first post. I was hoping it would be to thank the developers here for the new super cool one click rooter but never got a chance to get started. Oh well.

While reading this most excellent forum I was also updating widgets and generally mucking around with the appearance of my Optimus S and downloaded Gauge Battery Widget from the Market. I was in the settings and clicked to change the color of the gauge pointer to blue when the phone went dead. No nothing, just instant black. Now all it will do when the power button is pushed is the home, menu, back, search buttons flash. Tried the reset start and had the battery out for an hour, nothing.

So bottom line is this Gauge Battery Widget appears to have killed my phone. I contacted the developer and his response was, "sounds like a HW problem, sorry for that." According to him no app can mess up the os enough to cause a catastrophic failure. I'm no developer but I know that's BS.

Now I'm out a phone and it sucks. :'(

DoesItMatter

Dec 3, 2010
Visit site
Have you tried to go into the Recovery menu?

From power off, hold Volume Down and Home key with one hand, then hit the Power button until you see
the LG logo flash on/off, then release all the buttons.

If you can't even get into Recovery - it sounds like a faulty phone.

TonyHinNY

Sep 6, 2011
Visit site
Have you tried to go into the Recovery menu?

From power off, hold Volume Down and Home key with one hand, then hit the Power button until you see
the LG logo flash on/off, then release all the buttons.

If you can't even get into Recovery - it sounds like a faulty phone.
I had planned to root later this week but now want to get it working forst so I don't void the warranty.
DIM - tried recovery mode too, nada, zilch. The buttons flash but nothing else happens.

I had turned on the USB development switch so maybe they can flash it? Not sure, going to Sprint shortly to try.

uberjam545