considering moving from samsung s7 to pixel 3

• Thread starter Android Central Question
  • Start date
A

Android Central Question

i've been using my samsung s7 16GB (w/ a 16gb micro) since august 2016, and i honestly haven't had too problems with it. the apps work enough to get the job done, the battery could be better (but three years down the line, still satisfactory), and the user interference isn't a bother (except for the bloatware. thanks, samsung.). i've dropped it a lot but it hasn't gotten any cracks- just some scratches but that's just from the wear and tear.
i'm pretty much an average user. i don't play any intensive games, and i mainly just use my phone for texting and music, and pictures when the opportunity arises. personally, i really don't like the samsung camera- the unremovable beauty filter just ticks me off, and i like what i'm seeing in regards to the pixel 3 camera.
i've been considering the 64GB pixel 3 (or pixel 4, if that proves to be a better option) since i've been using a total of 32GB on my s7 with ease.

my main concerns with upgrading would be:
the lifespan- will it last me at least two or so years without any serious issues? i'll keep a case and a screen protector on my phone as a preventative measure, but i really don't want to be bothered by getting a screen replacement after dropping it indoors, etc. not a huge fan of my phone just refusing to boot up, and other software issues.
the specs- the specs don't seem like a big shift with the 4GB RAM, similar water resistance levels, etc etc. is it worth the shift?
the display- the resolution on pixel 3 does seem lower on paper, but when using it in real life, is it bothersome?

with everything in consideration, should i just make the jump from s7 to one of these phones? or should i wait a few more months (i can probably stretch my s7 for a couple more months, should i need to.)