Device files no longer loading, unable to take new ones

marinetact

Aug 28, 2022
Visit site
I use an oldish ZTE K88 running Android 7.1.1. I'm due for an upgrade, but in the meantime I was just getting by with what I had. I'm not too tech savvy, so I apologize in advance.

Just recently, I opened my Gallery app to check something after a download, and the screen was completely black, as if it was completely frozen on start. I closed and reopened it a few times, cleared cache and data, and even restarted a few times, but no dice. Google Photos does not load them either, only showing blank thumbnails, (I was able to confirm that almost all of them were backed up and viewable on another device, however.)
On apps that I usually share pictures on, when I click to view my available pictures, the thumbnails appear entirely blank, and in some apps, if I try to save a new image, it freezes entirely.
When I open File Manager, or look at my Chrome downloads, the thumbnails of the images are visible, but when I click them it crashes instead of receiving the option to view it on another app. I cannot even take screenshots or new pictures either, without getting an error.

I have no clue how this started, or how to fix it, just that it started after I had fussed around with an app update. The gist of that is that a social app I had downloaded from Google Play had a new update that made it difficult to use, and so I tried downgrading to an APK of an older version. It was when I downloaded that, the issue began.
I had done research on the site in question, confirming its safety, and found with a VirusTotal scan that the app itself was safe as well. None of my other apps had any issues, either, and before all this, I usually never downloaded anything other than images.

I'm out of luck. What do I do?

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Last edited:

marinetact

Aug 28, 2022
Visit site