Free Continuum on Amazon! I finally took the Android plunge.

nathanb131

Dec 2, 2010
Visit site
So I took a leap of faith and bit on a free continuum from Amazon. Hope I won't regret it. The general trend of people's experience is negative and I'm hoping that's just a vocal minority. Based on the original reviews, I'm looking forward to the amoled screen and the ticker display seems like a great feature. I also like the idea of a more compact phone with the 480x800 screen. I don't mind squinting at text if it means the phone is more pocketable. Yeah I could have got the fascinate for $30 and I just saw the announcement that gingerbread is coming to it...but I still decided to get the hardware I wanted and hope the upgrade trickles down.

I'm new to android but not to smartphones. Have been waiting for Palm's...er...HPalm's WebOS to mature but my rude awakening in the desert of the BB app store made reaffirmed to me why I loved Palm in the first place. It's the apps and customize ability. I was rocking treo's/centros all through mid last year when work gave me a BB curve which initially impressed me by being sort of modern but soon disappointed me. Not a SINGLE acceptable checklist program on BB?! I thought if any platform had great nerdy apps it'd be BB. I was wrong and missed my Palm OS.

I guess I'm hoping it will get upgraded past 2.1 but I'm not sure I care. Can anyone tell me what I'd be missing if it never gets this 'gingerbread' stuff? If I love Andoid the way I hope I will I think a tablet may soon follow anyway.

I'm just excited for the apps. There's a few specific note-taking and task management apps I will install right away. That and hopefully it interacts with my gcal and gmail nicer than my bb. Otherwise, I'm not looking for anything mind blowing or processor intensive.