Gmail widget does not resize on note with ics!

Ncoloss

Jun 4, 2012
Visit site
Hi all,

Newbie here.

Just upgraded to official ics via kies. Unbranded note in UK with Three. So far so good but for some reason the Gmail widget has a default size and pressing and holding has no effect. I mean the resize function does not work. A little weird since my wife has no problems resizing it on her galaxy s2.

Even on an empty home screen it always defaults to the same size about 3 x 4 and cannot be resized. Other resizable apps are fine.

Is this normal? How do I solve? I don't really want a launcher. Just want it to work as it should and does on my wife's s2.

One last thing is that ics seems to consume more energy than gingerbread. Battery life reduced by about 25 or more percent! Any tips?

Ta

Nick

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Android Central Forums

dolwen

Jun 6, 2012
Visit site
I have the exact same setup as you (unbranded note on 3), although upgraded through the regular software update. My gmail, mail, and bookmark widgets doesn't resize either. I haven't tried other widgets.

As far as battery life, I think my battery life has actually improved. I'm not sure why. The old setting to turn off background data use has been removed. However, in the 'data usage' setting you can set a data restriction to reduce background activity. I've done this. Maybe that will help you?
Rob

bentheslayer

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
I'm on Three as well and have the ICS update. I must admit I'm having trouble figuring out how to re-size widgets, I'm new to Touchwiz and can't find any info on how to do it - any help would be appreciated! Whilst I was deleting the photo frame widget that came set up as standard I think I triggered the re-sizing as a bunch of yellow lines appeared? I've no idea how I did it though.