Having problems with google talk

anon(51571)

Aug 24, 2010
Visit site
I can login and add people, and send messages. The people receive them and respond but I don't receive anything back. I'm new to android etc and I have no idea what to do. Logged into my google account on the computer and I can talk fine on there. What should I do?

anon(19758)

Apr 30, 2010
Visit site
Log out on the computer, for one. If I'm signed in to the same account on both, it will send replies to both UNTIL I reply on the computer. Then gTalk only sends messages to the PC.

lindycu

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
Folks - please let Google know this is a MAJOR PROBLEM. I've been having the same problem, and the fact is that Verizon, Motorola and Google are pointing fingers at one another. The fact is that Google has an issue, but getting support from Google is worth than a kick in the groin. Please twitter @Google and provide feedback on this and other posts. Here is a link to one of many forum posts for this very issue with not receiving messages/replies:

Not Receiving Messages - Google Mobile Help

Here's my testing and work with Level 2 support at both Verizon and Motorola:

Device: Motorola Droid X
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Country / Language: USA / English
OS / Browser / build number (if applicable): Android / N/A / System Version 1.13.604MB810.Verizon.en.US, Firmware Verizon 2.1-update1, Baseband version BP_C_01.09.04P, Kernel version 2.6.29 w30471, Build Number VZW

I'm having problems receiving Google Talk messages on my Motorola Droid X running Android 2.1Update1. My contacts can see me online, and I can see them. I can send them messages and they receive them. They in turn send me messages that I don't receive on my Android Droid X. I can shut the phone off, and log into GMail or into Google Talk for Windows PC and I do not have the same problem. Further more, my chat history is saved to GMail and there I can see the messages they sent.