Messages in Textra dont match stock app

lkwest

Sep 8, 2023
Visit site
Hello all,

Ive been using Textra for about 10 years on various Samsung phones. No issues until now. I had an A71 and yesterday I bought a S21. In the process of trying to switch my text messages over to my new phone, I realized that, on my old phone, the messages in the samsung stock messaging app dont match Textra. They are totally jumbled... messages missing, texts with person A are appearing in person B's chat log, group texts are missing, etc. But in Textra all the texts are normal.

Im hoping to fix this on my old phone so that I can transfer them to my new phone.

suzolin13

Jan 30, 2021
Visit site
I had a similar situation a couple of years ago when I upgraded to my S21 Ultra...there was no fix & I ultimately gave up

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site
Best thing to do when you switch between devices is go back to stock message app and let the transfer happen with that , the system doesn't look at 3rd party messages to complete the transfer , then go back to your 3rd party message app.
Another thing make backups periodically to Smart switch on PC that way you can restore messages or lot of other things any time.

lkwest

Sep 8, 2023
Visit site
Best thing to do when you switch between devices is go back to stock message app and let the transfer happen with that , the system doesn't look at 3rd party messages to complete the transfer , then go back to your 3rd party message app.
Another thing make backups periodically to Smart switch on PC that way you can restore messages or lot of other things any time.
Yes but its the stock messaging app (on the old phone) that has the jumbled messages, while the messages in Textra (on the old phone) are normal. Does that make sense?

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site