Retaining an album when deleting?

AndroidAmigo

Member
Mar 29, 2021
9
0
1
Visit site
I've backed up all my photos to the cloud, now l want to delete them from the phone except one album, how do l go about it?

I've tried to find this option on Google photos, but no, l've tried to even find the managing storage option on the app, but again no!?
 

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
19,231
466
83
Visit site
Which phone are you using? If you do it from Google Photos, this will delete the pictures from all linked devices (it'll warn you about it)! If you have your pictures backed up you should be able to delete them locally from either the Gallery app (unless you have a Google phone and they replaced that app with Photos...not sure) or by using a file manager (either a built-in one like Samsung's "My Files" or a 3rd party option).
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,015
4,072
113
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Probably the easiest way to approach this would be to first use the Free Up Space option in Google Photos, which will delete all locally saved photos that Google Photos knows is are already backed up to the cloud. Then you can go to that album you want to have locally saved, and redownload those photos.

You can always delete individual photos from local storage while keeping them saved to your cloud -- the trick is not to tap the garbage can icon, but instead tap the menu button (when viewing a photo), then select Delete From Device. But doing that for all of your photos would be pretty tedious, so go with the first thing I suggested above.
 

Mbun2

Well-known member
Nov 24, 2016
45
0
6
Visit site
I'm trying to delete, also. I'm using Samsung Gallery app, not Google Photos. There's no prompt to delete from device, just the trash icon. Does deleting the photos also delete from the synced Onedrive? If I turn the sync off, delete photos, & turn sync on again, will Onedrive delete them?
 

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
19,231
466
83
Visit site
IF they are already backed up to Photos or OneDrive, using the Trash option on your phone's Gallery app does delete the local copy only (it actually sends it to a 30-day limbo in case you want to restore it, but that's a separate conversation). If you use Photos, however, deleting the copy from there will also delete the backed up copy and any other synced version on other devices. Not sure how OneDrive behaves, but I'd assume it's similar to using Photos directly.
 

Trending Posts

Forum statistics

Threads
941,613
Messages
6,909,691
Members
3,157,985
Latest member
shirtman69