Rooted.....now what?

caverman

Aug 14, 2013
Visit site
So I'm new to android and just got a Galaxy S3 a few days back. Did a bunch of reading and managed to root the phone and make an nandroid back (which I've got a copy on my external SD card and copied to my PC). That was my main reason for rooting....getting a backup.

So now what? Any recommendations on what I should do? Any cool things that people are doing? Maybe some apps I should get rid off that came from AT&T? Thought I read somewhere about freezing some of those apps. Can someone give me more insight on that.

Thanks......

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
So I'm new to android and just got a Galaxy S3 a few days back. Did a bunch of reading and managed to root the phone and make an nandroid back (which I've got a copy on my external SD card and copied to my PC). That was my main reason for rooting....getting a backup.

So now what? Any recommendations on what I should do? Any cool things that people are doing? Maybe some apps I should get rid off that came from AT&T? Thought I read somewhere about freezing some of those apps. Can someone give me more insight on that.

Thanks......

Welcome to the forums!
You had a very good reason to root. Now that you have, get Titanium Backup and that will allow you to freeze bloatware. You will need to turn on USB Debugging. Settings>Developer Options>USB Debugging.

Some apps have more options once you are rooted, like Clean Master, and Some other apps like Titanium can only be used with root, like Light Manager.

Other than that, you are free to flash a custom recovery, and flash custom ROMs.

caverman

Aug 14, 2013
Visit site
Thanks.....

Will I need the paid version of Titanium in order to freeze the bloatware? By freezing it does that mean that I just won't receive any updates for the apps any more?