[Solved]When trying to print, I receive the message "Failed to change settings. Try again."

Oct 9, 2020
Visit site
I have a Samsung Galaxy s9. I have been printing from it to my wireless Brother printer for about six months now without incident. Yesterday when trying to print, I got the error message "Failed to change settings. Try again", and my document would not print. I have the iPrintScan app, but uninstalled it and I still cannot print and the error message is the same. I have not changed any settings or done anything different when attempting to print.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: When trying to print, I receive the message "Failed to change settings. Try again."

Welcome to Android Central! Is it a notification in the status bar, or a toast notification in the middle of the screen? If it's a toast, use Toast Source to figure out which app is giving you the error.

Oct 9, 2020
Visit site
Re: When trying to print, I receive the message "Failed to change settings. Try again."

As the message I receive when trying to print appears in the middle of the screen, I took your advice and installed Toast Source. Following instructions I found, I set the app to log all toasts and save them. Even though I have tried to print several times and still receive the same error message, I have checked Toast Source and it shows no toasts have been captured.

LRL

Nov 12, 2016
Visit site

Yes I am having the same problem (refer to my post), right after the Apps were updated. You have different printer and both having same problem, so an android/ Gmail issue.

LRL

Nov 12, 2016
Visit site

I tried your suggestion it did not work. I have screen shots but no way to attach here

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site

If you're using the Android Central app, I don't think you can attach a screenshot to a reply. Use the desktop forum site in your browser instead.

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site