Sprint connections optimizer and failed text messages

joshrocker

Active member
Oct 29, 2011
36
2
0
Visit site
I'm running an up to date, completely stock Epic 4G touch. For the last few weeks I keep getting the "Sprint optimizer" has failed message. I turned the selection off in the mobile settings and have confirmed several times that the box is unchecked.

It's causing the phone to lag upon waking it and has caused me to miss a couple of phone calls (the phone rings but freezes and I can't answer the call in time before it pushes it to voicemail). It usually does this twice and then I can use the phone normally for a awhile.

Around the same time, I started having trouble with text messages failing. Texts are failing very frequently, sometimes they go through anyway, sometimes they don't. Sadly, I have no way to know because the phone never updates a failed text. If they fail, they show as always failed, even if they get properly sent a few minutes later.

I'm assuming the 2 issues are related since they started happening right around the same time, but maybe not? I'm beyond annoyed at this point and appreciate if anyone knows of a fix.
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,367
113
63
Visit site
I'm running an up to date, completely stock Epic 4G touch. For the last few weeks I keep getting the "Sprint optimizer" has failed message. I turned the selection off in the mobile settings and have confirmed several times that the box is unchecked.

It's causing the phone to lag upon waking it and has caused me to miss a couple of phone calls (the phone rings but freezes and I can't answer the call in time before it pushes it to voicemail). It usually does this twice and then I can use the phone normally for a awhile.

Around the same time, I started having trouble with text messages failing. Texts are failing very frequently, sometimes they go through anyway, sometimes they don't. Sadly, I have no way to know because the phone never updates a failed text. If they fail, they show as always failed, even if they get properly sent a few minutes later.

I'm assuming the 2 issues are related since they started happening right around the same time, but maybe not? I'm beyond annoyed at this point and appreciate if anyone knows of a fix.

Sorry you are having problems.
Try this: Wipe cache in recovery. You have at least a few updates worth of cached data that is probably interfering with your current ROM. Here is how you do that: http://forums.androidcentral.com/sa...ing-into-recovery-mode-galaxy-s2-s3-tab2.html
 

joshrocker

Active member
Oct 29, 2011
36
2
0
Visit site
Good news first, I haven't had a text message fail since I cleared the cache.
Bad news, I'm still getting the sprint optimizations failed message.

Any other ideas? Thanks again!
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,367
113
63
Visit site
Good news first, I haven't had a text message fail since I cleared the cache.
Bad news, I'm still getting the sprint optimizations failed message.

Any other ideas? Thanks again!

What firmware are you using? Go to Settings>About device to check. Or, post a screenshot.

Sent from a SlimROM S3.
 

joshrocker

Active member
Oct 29, 2011
36
2
0
Visit site
Sorry for the stupid question, but what is the firmware listed as in the "about phone"?

For what it's worth, I did attempt to do a firmware update and it said nothing was available. I've ran every update that's been sent and have never attempted to root my phone, so everything (outside of keyboard) is stock and should be the latest version.
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,367
113
63
Visit site
Sorry for the stupid question, but what is the firmware listed as in the "about phone"?

For what it's worth, I did attempt to do a firmware update and it said nothing was available. I've ran every update that's been sent and have never attempted to root my phone, so everything (outside of keyboard) is stock and should be the latest version.

They changed it...sorry. Look at Software version. Bottom of About device screen. I had to go to my own E4GT, to verify...lol

Sent from a SlimROM S3.
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,367
113
63
Visit site
IMM761.FL24? That's listed under build number.

OK. GB 27 is the most up to date version of Android. Check our QBKing77 on YouTube. He has some great videos on how to manually update.
Watch a few times, double check that you have all the files. Any questions, ask.

Sent from a SlimROM S3.
 

joshrocker

Active member
Oct 29, 2011
36
2
0
Visit site
If I understand you right, I'm not running the latest version? Is this something that wasn't pushed to phones or is something wrong with my phone so simply didn't receive it?
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,367
113
63
Visit site
If I understand you right, I'm not running the latest version? Is this something that wasn't pushed to phones or is something wrong with my phone so simply didn't receive it?

Nope, you are a version behind. As I recall, that update was done by Kies. Download it from Samsung, it their program so it's good, and update that way.

Sent from a SlimROM S3.
 

joshrocker

Active member
Oct 29, 2011
36
2
0
Visit site
Once again, Thanks a lot! I don't know how I missed the latest update but I haven't had any problems at all today. I'm crossing my fingers.

I like this update a lot, it really makes it feel like a whole new phone.
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,367
113
63
Visit site
Once again, Thanks a lot! I don't know how I missed the latest update but I haven't had any problems at all today. I'm crossing my fingers.

I like this update a lot, it really makes it feel like a whole new phone.

I remembered that it was only available from Kies. Glad it's working.

From a SlimROM S3
 

Trending Posts

Forum statistics

Threads
943,138
Messages
6,917,466
Members
3,158,836
Latest member
Robbyworkman1995