Storage space problem on 32gb tablet

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
I have a tablet with 32gb of internal memory. It is a generic tablet, running Android 6. I have had it for two years with never a problem…..until now.

I was recently doing a backup and then got the message “insufficient storage space”. This was strange because I know I have only used about 18gb of the 32gb available. My usual File Explorer however was now showing total internal storage of only 16gb with just about 1.5gb left unused. However, other apps I use, like storage analysers or other File Explorers are showing the full 32gb. But when I tried again to do a backup it was still telling me I did not have enough space to do it.

I have tried all the normal things like clearing all app caches, running two different Android cleaning apps – you name it, I’ve tried it. Other than do a factory (very last resort) reset is there anything else to do to stop my tablet thinking I only have 16gb storage installed. Maybe something like re-partitioning, like in Windows?? (nb: I’m not highly tech)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
BM-20200322_104951.jpgBM-20200322_105041.jpgBM-20200322_105122.jpg
 
Last edited:

anon(10614692)

Well-known member
Jun 26, 2019
2,452
0
0
Visit site
Sounds like you are trying to save the back up to the tablet?? Be aware that the operating system will take up quite a lot of space so you won't have 32GB of storage available. CAn you do a screenshot of the storage usage and upload it?
 

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
Thanks for replying. I've attached 3 photos - two show the full amount and the last is my normal file explorer app which shows just 16gb. I could live with that but it's the backup program that keeps giving me the "insufficient storage space" that I need to fix. Otherwise, I'm sure any other downloads will come up against this false storage error.

Photos are attached to original posting
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,017
4,073
113
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Just to be sure -- the tablet doesn't have an SD card inserted, correct?

Also, does it have a brand/model name/number, or is it truly a generic with no labeling whatsoever? We can try to look up how to wipe its system cache partition.
 

me just saying

Well-known member
Jul 18, 2015
1,984
28
48
Visit site
the error message could be from where you were trying to store the backup, not the device itself. the first photos shows plenty of empty space - 21 gigs. where were you backing up to. also you said tablet but the photo says phone and it looks like a phone in the photo.
 

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
The only branding is when it boots up, a screen says Mediatek. On an analyser app I've used it gives device / brand name as TYD-108H and manufacturer as JTY. Under System info it says RAM is 730 mb used out of 1920 mb. Also System Storage has 1.15 Gb used out of 3.63 Gb total. When I attempted backup it is about 1.5 Gb of apps that I'm backing up. As there is definitely no separate SD card I presume it sores it in Internal Storage (32Gb). Surely it is not needing to put it into RAM first and then transferring it to storage. If it is doing that then that might account for the error message saying "insufficient space". Possible?
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,017
4,073
113
Visit site
You mentioned "Android 6 Lollipop," but Lollipop is 5.0. What's the exact Android version on the device?

Older devices would often annoyingly partition the internal storage into an app installation area and a separate "Internal SD" which would act like an SD card (i.e., you can't use it for app installation). The screenshots you've already shown us don't quite agree with that, but just in case, show us a screenshot of the Settings>Storage menu in the system settings.
 

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
Attached are two screenshots you requested. Also, according to Phone Info apps I have it is definitely Android 6 OS. Someone maybe mistakenly thought it was called Lollipop but its Android 6. On the Settings/storage screenshoy the bottom of the list shows "Misc 1.76 gb. This is the apps backup I already have.

Did you see my comment about it was when trying to add another backup that I got message about insufficient space. So, could it be trying to store new backup in RAM before writing it to storage?? If I had 1.2 gb or RAM left and my backup is 1.7 gb, then maybe that is the reason for error message. (You can see that my tablet's settings recognises 32gb storage. Maybe the file explorer app that shows 16gb is not working properly)BM-20200323_094101.jpgBM-20200323_094213.jpg
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,017
4,073
113
Visit site
could it be trying to store new backup in RAM before writing it to storage??

If the error message was about "low storage space," then it's referring to Internal Storage, not RAM.

Are you able to install more apps, or does it still give you a low storage space error? Does this only happen when trying to backup?
 

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
Well, I uninstalled the backup app called My Backup. I reinstalled it, tried a backup and it was successful ! Then I did a second backup to see what happened and that's when I got the error message in photo attached. My app that monitors usage then showed
Memory 1200mb available out of 2 gb
Internal storage: 18.7 gb available out of 32gb

I'm beginning to think I'll just not use this backup app and forget about it. Any last ideas of what to do??

ps I appreciate your efforts in helping me !

BM-20200323_153307_1.jpg
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,017
4,073
113
Visit site
It's interesting that the error message specifically says it's trying to save a file to the SD card when you don't have one inserted in the first place. It probably means internal storage. Can you confirm that the successful backup is saved to internal storage somewhere?

Otherwise, I agree about abandoning that backup app -- it may just be a bug. If you are able to install other apps without issue, then that would support the likelihood that the backup app is glitchy.
 

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
Well, the backup I did after reinstalling the backup app shows up ok with all apps there.. Subsequent backups with that same app show error messages. I think I'll just forget about that particular app.

Also the File Manager app which says I have 16 gb of storage on my tablet when other File Managers and analyser apps say I've got 32gb. So I'll ditch that app as well.

There's more serious stuff going on in our world right now so this will all have to go on the back burner.

Thanks for all your efforts. Stay safe.
 

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
Storage reporting problem?? - 32gb tablet

A few weeks ago I posted a question regarding problem with my Tablet storage. It is a two year old Chinese made one and there are seemingly no System Updates available for it. I was trying to do a backup (using app MyBackup) and I am getting a message at the end saying error: "unable to save file to SD card. Out of space. Meta save error.". I don't understand why, as my tablet has supposedly got 32 gb storage and I have only used about 12 gb. It is running on OS Android 6. There is NO separate sd card slot so I presume all the storage is already built in. I am really trying to avoid doing any factory reset if at all possible.

I have tried using all sorts of cleaners/boosters etc but, having tried to do another backup today, I am still getting error message saying I'm out of space. I apparently have 1.2 gb of ROM left and I know the backup is 1.6 gb but why does it not get stored anyway - if it is any clue the app only gives me the option to store on "internal storage"

I'm not a techie so I will try to attach a screenshot showing exactly what my tablet consists of spacewise. I do not really know the difference in my ROM and my RAM.

ps: I have also tried deleting previous backups then reinstalling the app freshly using option to "save to Internal storage" as there is no option to save to SD card. I do a backup and it works fine but when I try a second backup I get the message that I have run out of space. HELP !!

Screenshot.jpg

In case my screenshot does not appear the info showing is:-

RAM INFO
Used:774mb
Free 1.12 gb
Total 1.88 gb

ROM INFO
Used: 11.35 gb
Free: 19.85 gb
Total: 31.2 gb

INTERNAL STORAGE INFO
Used: 11.35 gb
Free: 1.08 gb
Total: 12.43 gb
 
Last edited:

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
90,750
5,423
113
Visit site
Re: Storage reporting problem?? - 32gb tablet

A few weeks ago I posted a question regarding problem with my Tablet storage. It is a two year old Chinese made one and there are seemingly no System Updates available for it. I was trying to do a backup (using app MyBackup) and I am getting a message at the end saying error: "unable to save file to SD card. Out of space. Meta save error.". I don't understand why, as my tablet has supposedly got 32 gb storage and I have only used about 12 gb. It is running on OS Android 6. There is NO separate sd card slot so I presume all the storage is already built in. I am really trying to avoid doing any factory reset if at all possible.

I have tried using all sorts of cleaners/boosters etc but, having tried to do another backup today, I am still getting error message saying I'm out of space. I apparently have 1.2 gb of ROM left and I know the backup is 1.6 gb but why does it not get stored anyway - if it is any clue the app only gives me the option to store on "internal storage"

I'm not a techie so I will try to attach a screenshot showing exactly what my tablet consists of spacewise. I do not really know the difference in my ROM and my RAM.

ps: I have also tried deleting previous backups then reinstalling the app freshly using option to "save to Internal storage" as there is no option to save to SD card. I do a backup and it works fine but when I try a second backup I get the message that I have run out of space. HELP !!

View attachment 319493

In case my screenshot does not appear the info showing is:-

RAM INFO
Used:774mb
Free 1.12 gb
Total 1.88 gb

ROM INFO
Used: 11.35 gb
Free: 19.85 gb
Total: 31.2 gb

INTERNAL STORAGE INFO
Used: 11.35 gb
Free: 1.08 gb
Total: 12.43 gb

i've seen some do factory reset to fix the issue
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,017
4,073
113
Visit site
I merged the threads together.

I still suspect this tablet is using the old way of partitioning the internal storage into a true internal storage section (where apps can be installed) and an "internal SD card" that acts like an external SD card (i.e., you can't install apps to that part). It might be confusing the system info apps you're using to see how much storage is available.

Install Total Commander and show us a screenshot of the main page. If there's an internal SD partition, I think it'll show up separate from the "internal shared storage" partition.
 

barryman99

Member
Mar 22, 2020
24
0
0
Visit site
Thanx for reply. Attached is screenshot showing home page of Total Commander. I still can't understand why, as I have 32gb of storage, the tablet does not allocate space to put any apps or other stuff. I see that it designates some space as "emulated" so is there a way to reconfigure it so that it doesn't form these "emulated" areas ?

Also, would a factory reset even solve this or would it set itself up in the same way?

Screenshot_2020-04-22-04-55-15.png
 

Kee5892

Member
Mar 10, 2020
14
0
0
Visit site
You do have 32GB of sotrage but remember that it is the total storage on your device. What that means is that your OS is also taking some of it.
I also have 32GB on my phone but only ~24 GB of it is free.
You cant really call it a problem, its just how devices work.
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
165,017
4,073
113
Visit site
The strange thing is that the total available storage that Total Commander reports should be the amount of internal storage you can use not counting what's taken up by the OS and bloatware. For example, on my 64 GB Pixel 3 XL, Total Commander reports that I'm using 22.8 out of 51.5 GB available, since about 13 GB is taken up by the system. Your tablet says you're using 21.1 GB out of 31 GB, but if the tablet is a 32 GB tablet, then that would mean only 1 GB is being used for the OS, which is unheard of.

This suggests that the tablet has some wonky stuff going on with regards to its reporting of storage. It's entirely possible the system was tweaked to lie and report more storage than there actually is. This is not that uncommon with cheap no-name/off-brand stuff -- just watch some of the entertaining YouTube reviews by SMOOREZ, who enjoys buying cheap junk and showing just how much they lie about the internals: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXL7BeoLvnObB0riYv5qwSg

My guess is that your tablet is actually 16 GB, and the most accurate reading of the various apps you used is the last one under Internal Storage Info. That tells you that you have 12.43 GB of total usable internal storage (which would make sense for a 16 GB device, since the OS usually takes up around 3-4 GB). Since you're already using up 11.35 GB and therefore only have a little over 1 GB of usable storage left, that's why you're getting low storage warnings.
 

Trending Posts

Forum statistics

Threads
941,619
Messages
6,909,730
Members
3,157,994
Latest member
onelink_daw