Too many lenses - not enough info - Which Lens does what, and when?

MikeSD

Mar 11, 2019
Visit site
I love the S24 Ultra. I've been using the S20 Ultra 5G since it came out. But I really never considered phone cameras much of a camera. I don't think any can touch a real camera, for photography. I'm a believer more glass is better. :) And the better the quality of the glass, the best chance of a good picture. I've been using Canon and Nikon for 50 years. So its a little hard to believe a 1" camera can compete.

That said, I decided to take a closer look at the S24 cameras. The first thing I noticed is I can't figure out which lens does what, and when. Yes, I can tell when a camera is in use. I just block the lens and can tell. HOWEVER, when I tried the 200MP sensor, The bottom lens was being used, until I changed zoom ranges, then one of the other lenses suddenly was in use. That seems to imply a different sensor was in use.

So, is there a table somewhere that identifies which lens is being used, and under that modes? There are 4 lenses, but only 3 choices in the camera for the sensor. Kind of confusing. I mean it's kind of important to know which sensor is in use. Does zoom affect the sensor used? Does portrait vs. normal affect which sensor is chosen? I've never seen any camera where the sensor can change without you knowing what's being used. That seems to be a new concept.

It looks like the top lens is being used at 12MP
And the middle lens at 50MP
But the middle lens is also used at 200, until you switch to portrait, or 5X zoom

It also looks like the sensors are 3 x 4. So you only get max resolution, at 3:4 setting,

What is the smaller lens, in the other column used for?
Are there other modes that will switch lenses and sensors I should know about?
Where is all this documented?