Why is rooting so diverse and difficult?

epidenimus

Racer of Elevators
Apr 13, 2011
Visit site
I have looked through all classifications and this seems to be the best place to start a philosophical thread.

Our Android devices are fantastic little Linux boxes with which we can do so much with just our thumbs. I have attempted to root my device at two different points, each called for a different exploit, depending on the stock ROM/recovery that I was running at the time. I have helped others in finding the path to controlling their devices. I am an IT administrator IRL and realize the damage one can cause to a computer with extended privileges. I know what rooting does and that it is most certainly not for everyone. I also understand that manufacturers and telecoms/ISP's cannot support anything that they cannot control (i.e. ROMs and recoveries other than stock).

All that having been said, I am also an American patriot who wonders why we have to resort to and adapt hacking to get superuser rights to the personal equipment we have purchased. Seriously, most users will never do anything that voids their right to complain and get recourse, nor will they install anything beyond a slew of games or some productivity apps. That is just fine and dandy by me. What I do not get is why rooting is relegated to being such a dirty practice. With any Linux box that I own and/or I set up, I know the root password and can tweak to my heart's content or my hardware explosion, whichever comes first. :)

So my questions, as the icon indicates are:

Why must it be so weird and hackeroony to get root permissions on a device that we own and control? What would be the harm in allowing a command like 'adb rootthismofo' to do just that? How many of the user base even know what an SDK is or how to install it? Even so, why not have a typical BASH response that says
BASH reply